California Women Lawyers Congratulates 
Vice President-Elect Kamala Harris


 From her birth in Oakland, California to her upcoming role as Vice President of the United States, Kamala Harris is a true California woman lawyer, and California Women Lawyers is proud to congratulate her on her election.

 Senator Harris began her legal career as a deputy district attorney in Alameda County, where she served from 1990 to 1998. Past-president of CWL Nancy O’Malley worked alongside Senator Harris and was appointed as Alameda County District Attorney in 2009. Senator Harris later worked for another CWL past-president, San Francisco City Attorney Louise Renne, before she ran for San Francisco District Attorney.

 California Women Lawyers, one of the nation’s largest statewide women’s bar organizations, is dedicated to the advancement of women in the legal profession and society. Empowering women to attain leadership positions is integral to our work. Senator Harris’ success is a sign that our efforts are paying off, but also, more than 100 years after women gained the right to vote in the United States, a sign that we still have work to do. CWL is committed to that work through programs like Elect to Run, encouraging women lawyers to run for office, and through our advocacy and lobbying work. When women lawyers become political leaders, we all benefit.

Very truly yours,

Naomi Dewey
California Women Lawyers

The Benefits of Membership

CWL is the only statewide organization with the mission of advancing women in the legal profession and in society. Whether it is helping new practitioners expand their client base or assisting experienced attorneys in securing positions on the bench, CWL is an invaluable resource for the professional advancement of women lawyers.  Be Part of Something Bigger!

Join Today

California Women Lawyers Awards! 

Help us honor Outstanding Legal Professionals! CWL is seeking nominations for all of its 2021 awards: The Rose Bird Memorial Award, The Joan Dempsey Klein Distinguished Jurist Award, The Judith Soley Lawyer as Citizen Award, and The Fay Stender Award. Click here to view the awards criteria. The application deadline is Friday, December 18, 2020 by 5:30pm

Click Here for the application