Southern California - Joan Dempsey Klein Award

The Joan Dempsey Klein Distinguished Jurist Award was first presented in 1994. At the time, it was the “Distinguished Jurist” Award and its first recipient was Joan Dempsey Klein, a Justice on the Second District Court of Appeal in California. Justice Klein is a champion of women's rights and a pioneer in the struggle to achieve equal opportunity for women in the law. She was a founder and provisional president of CWL and the first president of the National Association of Women Judges, and she has spent considerable time giving support and positive reinforcement to women in the legal profession. She is well known as an excellent judge who listens, encourages dialogue and fosters consensus. She accomplished all of this while raising five children.

Candidates for the Joan Dempsey Klein Distinguished Jurist Award are evaluated for excellence as jurists and for longstanding vigorous service and inspiration to the women lawyers of California. Those eligible for consideration are from the southern portion of the State.

The Joan Dempsey Klein Distinguished Jurist Award is presented annually at CWL's Southern California Judicial Reception.  To attend CWL's Southern California Judicial Reception please keep an eye on CWL News and Events and the CWL Calendar.

Past Recipients:

  • Hon. Yvonne Campos, San Diego Superior Court (2015)
  • Hon. Kathleen E. O'Leary (2014)
  • Hon. Teresa Estrada-Mullaney (2013)
  • Hon. Audrey B. Collins (2012)
  • Hon. Lee Smalley Edmon (2012)
  • Hon. Irma E. Gonzalez (2011)
  • Hon. Deborah B. Andrews (2010)
  • Hon. Eileen C. Moore (2009)
  • Hon. Patricia Yim Cowett (2008)
  • Hon. Consuelo B. Marshall (2007)
  • Hon. Wendy S. Lindley (2006)
  • Hon. Sandra A. Thompson (2005)
  • Hon. Judith L. Haller (2004)
  • Hon. Pamela Iles (2003)
  • Hon. Fumiko Hachiya Wasserman (2002)
  • Hon. Vaino Spencer (2001)
  • Hon. Veronica Simmons McBeth (2000)
  • Hon. Meredith C. Taylor (1999)
  • Hon. Judith C. Chirlin ((1998)
  • Hon. Candace Cooper (1997)
  • Hon. Arleigh Maddox Woods (1996)
  • Hon. Judith McConnell (1995)
  • Hon. Joan Dempsey Klein (1994)